Skip to main content

OPTN Executive Committee forms two work groups

Published on: Monday, April 15, 2024

The OPTN Executive Committee has established two ad hoc work groups to further develop key initiatives. Each is charged with studying and recommending action items to the OPTN Board of Directors.

The Code of Conduct Work Group will further refine and codify a code of conduct for OPTN volunteers, including a framework for the OPTN to address potential whistleblower concerns or complaints. It is chaired by Board President Dianne LaPointe Rudow, ANP-BC, DNP, FAAN, and includes members of the OPTN Executive Committee and the OPTN Board. It is expected to release a proposal for special public comment in the spring of 2024, which may in turn be presented to the OPTN Board for action in June 2024.

The OPTN Prioritization Work Group will build a new framework and approach for prioritizing and approving OPTN projects, including resource assessment to advise the process. The overall framework to be developed will involve input from the OPTN Board, the OPTN Executive Committee, and the OPTN Policy Oversight committee. The work group aims to implement this new framework to support the implementation of the 2024-2027 OPTN Strategic Plan. The work group will not evaluate or make decisions on specific policy proposals, current projects, or future work. It is chaired by OPTN Board Treasurer Andrea Tietjen, M.B.A., CPA, and includes members drawn from the Executive and Policy Oversight committees, Board members and a past OPTN Board President. The work group is expected to bring recommendations to the OPTN Board for action in June 2024.