Skip to main content

Nominees chosen for 2024 Board of Directors election

Published on: Thursday, December 21, 2023

The OPTN Board of Directors approved the following nominees for the annual Board election. The ballot for the national Board of Directors election will be open in early 2024. Those elected to the Board will begin their terms on July 1, 2024. Biographical information and personal statements from the nominees are available here.

Designated voting representatives of members with voting privileges may cast a vote in the annual Board election. Voting representatives for each member organization, as well as individual members, will receive emailed instructions for casting their vote.

The Board slate is developed in alignment with the needs assessment created by the OPTN Nominating Committee, identifying the key skill sets, expertise, and perspectives most needed in the coming year. The Nominating Committee also ensures that Board composition is compliant with OPTN bylaws as well as regulatory requirements. Membership on the Board of Directors is open to transplant professionals and members of the general public.

See below for video interviews with the candidates for Vice President/President-Elect.


Board of Directors nominees
Board position Candidate(s)
(vote for one)
Richard Formica, M.D.
Yale New Haven Hospital
Vice President/President-Elect
(vote for one)
Adam Bingaman, M.D.
Largo Medical Center

Lloyd Ratner, M.D.
Vice President for Patient and Donor Affairs
(vote for one)
James Sharrock, J.D.
Retired Counsel

Macey Levan, Ph.D., J.D.
NYU Grossman School of Medicine
NYU Langone Health Transplant Institute
(vote for one)
Jennifer Muriett, RN, M.S.N., B.S.N., CPTC
Donor Alliance

Kyle Herber, M.P.A.
Live On Nebraska
Immediate Past President
(vote for one)
Dianne LaPointe Rudow, APN-BC., DNP, FAAN
Recanati Miller Transplantation Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital
Regional Councillors
(vote for four)
Region 3 J. David Vega, M.D.
Emory University Hospital
Region 5 Robert Harland, M.D., FACS
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Tucson
Region 6 Catherine Kling, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Washington
Region 9 Nancy Metzler
University of Rochester Medical Center
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Brittany Clayborne, M.S., Psy.D.
Brittany Speaks

Earl Stephen Lovell
U.S. Navy Retired
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Glen Kelley
The Mended Hearts, Inc.

John Sperzel
T2 Biosystems, Inc.
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Frankie McGinnis, M.S.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Joseph (Joe) Brownlee
Independent Consultant/Enduring Hearts (Interim CEO)
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Bridget Dewees, Ph.D.
Claflin University

Denise Abbey, RN, M.H.A.
At Large
(vote for one)
Adrian Christopher Lawrence, M.D., MACM
University of Texas - Southwestern Medical Center

Deborah Levine, M.D., FAST, FCCP
Stanford University
At Large
(vote for one)
Clark Andrew Bonham, M.D.
Stanford Health Care

Dev Desai, M.D., Ph.D., FACS
Phoenix Children’s Hospital
At Large
(vote for one)
Allison Kwong, M.D.
Stanford University

Patrick Northup, M.D., M.H.S., FAASLD, FACG
NYU Langone Health Transplant Institute
At Large
(vote for one)
Priya Verghese, M.D., M.P.H., FAST
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Sandra Amaral, M.D., M.H.S.
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and University of Pennsylvania
At Large
(vote for one)
Gaurav Gupta, M.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University

Marcus Anthony Urey, M.D.
University of California San Diego Health
At Large
(vote for one)
Jason Hawksworth, M.D., FACS
Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Sara Rasmussen, M.D., Ph.D., FACS, FAAP
Nationwide Children’s Hospital/The Ohio State University
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (AOPO)
(vote for one)
Dorrie Dils, B.S.N., M.H.A.
Gift of Life Michigan
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (AST)
(vote for one)
Deborah B. Adey, M.D.
University of California, San Francisco, Kidney and Pancreas Transplant Service
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (ASTS)
(vote for one)
Osama Gaber, M.D.
Houston Methodist Physician Organization
Medical/Scientific Organization Histocompatibility Representative (CAP)
(vote for one)
Caroline Alquist, M.D., Ph.D.
Hoxworth Blood Center, University of Cincinnati
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (NATCO)
(vote for one)
Jennifer Reese, R.N., M.S.N., ANP-BC, CCTC
Cleveland Clinic