Skip to main content

Nominees chosen for 2023 Board of Directors election

Published on: Friday, December 16, 2022

The Board of Directors approved the following nominees for the annual Board election. The ballot for the national Board of Directors election will be open from January 18, 2023 through February 1, 2023. Those elected to the Board will begin their terms on July 1, 2023.

Designated voting representatives of members with voting privileges may cast a vote in the annual Board election. Voting representatives for each member organization and member individuals will receive emailed instructions for casting their vote from in January 2023.

The Board slate is developed in alignment with an annual needs assessment, identifying the key skill sets, expertise, and perspectives sought in the coming year. The Nominating Committee also ensures that Board composition is compliant with OPTN bylaws as well as regulatory requirements. The Board of Directors is comprised of transplant professionals as well as patient, donor, and family representatives.

Biographical information and personal statements from the nominees are available here. In addition, see below for video interviews with the two candidates for Vice President/President-Elect.


Board Position Candidate(s)
(vote for one)
Dianne LaPointe Rudow, APN-BC, DNP, FAAN
Recanati Miller Transplantation Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital
Vice President/President-Elect
(vote for one)
Maryjane Farr, M.D., M.Sc., FAST, FACC
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Richard Formica, M.D.
Yale New Haven Hospital
(vote for one)
Andrea Tietjen, M.B.A., CPA
Saint Barnabas Medical Center

Jeffrey Orlowski, M.S., CPTC
LifeShare Transplant Donor Services of Oklahoma
Immediate Past President
(vote for one)
Jerry McCauley, M.D., M.P.H.
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Minority Transplant Professional Representative
(vote for one)
Amishi Desai, D.O.
Northwestern Memorial Hospital

Silas Norman, M.D., M.P.H.
University of Michigan Medical Center
Regional Councillors
(vote for seven)
Region 1 Reginald Gohh, M.D.
Rhode Island Hospital
Region 2 Emily Blumberg, M.D.
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Region 4 Michael Kwan, M.D.
Methodist Specialty and Transplant Hospital
Region 7 Bhargav Mistry, M.D., FRCSEng, FRCSI, FACS
Sanford Medical Center Fargo
Region 8 Andrew Kao, M.D., FACC, FHFSA
St. Luke’s Hospital of Kansas City
Region 10 Kenneth McCurry, M.D.
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Region 11 Christopher Jones, M.D., FACS
Jewish Hospital
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
George Surratt, B.S.

Kenny Laferriere, B.S.W., CTBS
New England Organ Bank
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Kelly Willenberg, DBA, B.S.N., CHRC, CHC, CCRP
Kelly Willenberg, LLC

Julie Spear, B.S.
Peakview Environmental, LLC
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Jennifer Lau, B.A.
Transplant Families

Stephanie Little, M.S.W., LMSW
Minot State University, College of Health Sciences
At Large Patient and Donor Affairs Representative
(vote for one)
Laura Butler, MMHC, FNP-BC
Montefiore Medical Center

Cynthia Forland, Ph.D.
Forland Consulting
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (ASHI)
(vote for one)
Luis Hidalgo Ph.D., F(ACHI)
Histocompatibility Laboratory, University of Wisconsin
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (NATCO)
(vote for one)
Erika Demars RN, M.S.N., CCTC
Henry Ford Hospital
Medical/Scientific Organization Representative (AOPO)
(vote for one)
Colleen McCarthy, RN, B.S.N.
Versiti Wisconsin