Skip to main content


To facilitate transplantation, the US is divided into 11 geographic regions. In each region, a regional councillor, an associate regional councillor, and a staff administrator work together to coordinate regional activities such as regional meetings and regional education events for transplant professionals. Each region is represented by a regional councillor on the Board of Directors and has a representative on each of the standing committees. The regional system:

  • Provides an effective mechanism for communication among OPTN staff, the Board of Directors and the transplant community.
  • Facilitates the identification of geographically diverse transplant professionals to populate both the Board of Directors and committees.
  • Provides a forum for consensus building and transparency of work throughout the OPTN policy development process through regional meetings that are held twice a year during the public comment periods.

Interactive Regional Map

Click on the number below to see information on that region.


Region 1 Region 2 Region 3 Region 4 Region 5 Region 6 Region 6 Region 7 Region 8 Region 9 Region 10 Region 11 All Regions

The states comprising each region are as follows:

  • Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Eastern Vermont
  • Region 2: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Northern Virginia
  • Region 3: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico
  • Region 4: Oklahoma, Texas
  • Region 5: Arizona, California, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah
  • Region 6: Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington
  • Region 7: Illinois, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin
  • Region 8: Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Wyoming
  • Region 9: New York, Western Vermont
  • Region 10: Indiana, Michigan, Ohio
  • Region 11: Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia