Skip to main content

Policy Oversight Committee

The Policy Oversight Committee reviews developing and proposed policies and Committee initiatives for the purpose of providing input both to the Committees and the Board with regard to some specific perspectives. Those perspectives include the degree to which specific proposals address policy goals outlined in either the National Organ Transplant Act or the OPTN Final Rule and whether initiatives/policies are sufficiently evidence-based, where appropriate. The POC may review developing OPTN policies and initiatives through these and/or other perspectives as the leadership directs. The goal of the committee's work is to ensure that OPTN initiatives, regardless of sponsoring committee, are reviewed and evaluated with a standard set of perspectives and are considered as part of a larger national transplantation system.

Current Projects


  • Ms. Jennifer E Milton
  • University Hospital, University of Texas Health Science Center
Vice Chair
  • Ms. Alexandra K Glazier
  • New England Organ Bank
    • Members
    • Organization
    • Ms. Diane Brockmeier
    • Mid-America Transplant Services
    • Dr. Vincent P Casingal
    • Carolinas Medical Center
    • Mr. Chris Curran
    • New England Organ Bank
    • Ms. Shannon M Dunne
    • Division of Transplantation, HHS, Ex Officio-Non Voting
    • Garrett W Erdle
    • General Public Region 11
    • Dr. John J Friedewald
    • Northwestern Memorial Hospital
    • Mr. Barry S Friedman
    • AdventHealth Orlando
    • Ms. Pamela J Giles
    • Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute
    • Dr. Evelyn K Hsu
    • Seattle Children's Hospital
    • Heather F Hunt
    • General Public Region 1
    • Dr. Ajay Israni
    • Hennepin County Medical Center
    • Dr. Bertram L Kasiske
    • Hennepin County Medical Center
    • Dr. Irene Kim
    • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
    • Ms. Sharon Klarman
    • Yale New Haven Hospital
    • Ms Laura Klein
    • Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute
    • Dr. Ricardo M La Hoz
    • UT Southwestern Medical Center/William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital
    • Dr. Keren Ladin
    • Tufts Medical Center
    • Dr. Peter N Lalli
    • Immunology Laboratory at Carolinas Medical Center
    • Dr. Erika D Lease
    • University of Washington Medical Center
    • Ms. Nancy Metzler
    • Strong Memorial Hospital, University of Rochester Medical Center
    • Dr. Silke V Niederhaus
    • University of Maryland Medical System
    • Dr. Rachel E Patzer
    • Emory University Hospital
    • Dr. Bohdan Pomahac
    • Brigham and Women's Hospital
    • Dr. Jon J Snyder
    • Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute
    • Dr. James F Trotter
    • Baylor University Medical Center

Meeting Summaries

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.