Skip to main content

Kidney Committee

The Kidney Transplantation Committee is charged with considering medical, scientific, and ethical aspects related to kidney organ procurement, distribution, and allocation. The Committee considers both the broad implications and the specific member situations relating to kidney issues and policies. The goal of the committee's work is to develop evidence-based policies aimed at reducing the burden of renal disease in transplant patients (candidates and recipients), increasing kidney utilization, improving access to kidney transplantation as appropriate, and improving the health outcomes of kidney transplant recipients, fostering access to transplantation and good outcomes for patients (including waiting candidates and living donors) involved in kidney transplantation.

Current Projects

Public Comment


Board approved and pending implementation


  • Dr. Nicole A Turgeon
  • Emory University Hospital
Vice Chair
  • Dr. Vincent P Casingal
  • Carolinas Medical Center
    • Members
    • Organization
    • Dr. James S Bowman
    • Division of Transplantation, HHS, Ex Officio-Non Voting
    • Dr. Robert A Bray
    • HLA Laboratory at Emory University
    • Mr. Paul T Conway
    • General Public Region 11
    • Dr. Dev M Desai
    • Children's Medical Center of Dallas
    • Dr. Truman (Mark) M Earl
    • University of Mississippi Medical Center
    • Mr. Joseph M Ferreira
    • Nevada Donor Network
    • Dr. Stephen R Guy
    • Hahnemann University Hospital
    • Valinda L Jones
    • General Public Region 3
    • Dr. Mary T Killackey
    • Tulane Medical Center
    • Mrs. Lisa N Matthias
    • Henrico Doctors' Hospital
    • Dr. Deepak Mital
    • Advocate Christ Medical Center
    • Dr. Ernesto P Molmenti
    • North Shore University Hospital/Northwell Health
    • Dr. Martha Pavlakis
    • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    • Dr. Vinaya Rao
    • Medical University of South Carolina
    • Dr. Fuad S Shihab
    • University of Utah Medical Center
    • Dr. Julia M Steinke
    • Helen DeVos Children's Hospital
    • Dr. Andrew S Weiss
    • Virginia Mason Medical Center
    • Dr. Jason R Wellen
    • Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Meeting Summaries

Reports to the Board of Directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.