Skip to main content

Histocompatibility Committee

The Histocompatibility Committee considers issues relating to donor and recipient histocompatibility, organ allocation, histocompatibility testing, and histocompatibility laboratory and personnel qualifications. The goal of the committee's work is to promote patient safety, good transplant outcomes, and best use of organs.


Practices for laboratories supporting clinical transplantation

Interpretation of HLA Typing Results for UNet Entry

  • Dr Cathi L Murphey
  • Southwest Immunodiagnostics
Vice Chair
  • Dr Peter N Lalli
  • Immunology Laboratory at Carolinas Medical Center
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Dr Medhat Z Askar Transplant Immunology Laboratory at Baylor University Medical Center Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2020  
Dr Adam W Bingaman Methodist Specialty and Transplant Hospital At Large 6/30/2020  
Dr Idoia Gimferrer Bloodworks Northwest Immunogenetics Laboratory Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Dr Taba Kheradmand Midwest Transplant Network Histocompatibility Laboratory Westwood Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Dr Evan P Kransdorf Cedars-Sinai Medical Center At Large 6/30/2022  
Dr Chantale Lacelle UT Southwestern Histocompatibility Laboratory Regional Rep. 6/30/2020  
Dr Marilyn E Levi Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2021  
Dr Mayra Lopez-Cepero LifeLink Transplantation Immunology Laboratory Regional Rep. 6/30/2020  
Dr John G Lunz LifeLink Transplantation Immunology Laboratory At Large 6/30/2022  
Dr Gabriel Maine Histocompatibility Laboratory at William Beaumont Hospital Regional Rep. 6/30/2020  
Ms Tracy McRacken HLA Immunology Laboratory at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital Regional Rep. 6/30/2021  
Dr Gerald P Morris Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics Laboratory at UCSD Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Dr Allen J Norin Transplantation Immunology Laboratory at Brooklyn Regional Rep. 6/30/2020  
Vikram Pattanayak Histocompatibility Laboratory at Massachusetts General Hospital Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Dr Jennifer Schiller Versiti, Blood Center of Wisconsin Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Mr. Karl Schillinger General Public Region 2 Regional Rep. 6/30/2022  
Mr Craig Van De Walker Pacific Northwest Transplant Bank At Large 6/30/2020  
Dr Melissa Y Yeung Brigham and Women's Hospital At Large 6/30/2020  

Meeting Summaries

Reports to the Board of Directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.