Skip to main content

Liver & Intestinal Organ Transplantation Committee

The Liver and Intestinal Organ Transplantation Committee considers medical, scientific, and ethical aspects related to liver and intestine organ procurement, distribution, and allocation. The Committee considers both the broad implications and the specific member situations of these liver or intestinal issues and policies. The goal of the Committee's work is to develop evidence-based policies aimed at reducing the burden of liver disease in transplant patients (candidates and recipients), increasing liver utilization, improving access to liver transplantation, and improving the health outcomes of liver transplant recipients.

Current Projects


Board approved and pending implementation


  • Dr. James J Pomposelli
  • University of Colorado Hospital/Health Science Center
Vice Chair
  • Dr. Scott W Biggins
  • University of Washington Medical Center
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Dr. Peter L Abt Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Region 2 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Sophoclis P Alexopoulos Vanderbilt University Medical Center At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Diane Alonso Intermountain Medical Center Region 5 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Sumeet Asrani Baylor University Medical Center At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. James S Bowman Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2022  
Dr. Kimberly A Brown Henry Ford Hospital At Large 6/30/2022  
Dr. Derek A DuBay Medical University of South Carolina Region 11 Representative 6/30/2022  
Dr. James D Eason Methodist University Hospital At Large 6/30/2023  
Alan E Gunderson University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Transplant Programs Region 8 Representative 6/30/2023  
Ms. Bailey Heiting Versiti Wisconsin, Inc Region 7 Representative 6/30/2023  
Ms. Jennifer M Kerney University of California San Francisco Medical Center At Large 6/30/2022  
Dr. Chandrashekhar A Kubal Indiana University Health Region 10 Representative 6/30/2022  
Dr. Allison J Kwong Stanford Health Care At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Marilyn E Levi Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2022  
Dr. Raymond J Lynch Emory University Hospital Region 3 Representative 6/30/2022  
Dr. James F Markmann Massachusetts General Hospital Region 1 Representative 6/30/2023  
Mr. Peter J Matthews General Public Region 2 At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. Gregory J McKenna Baylor University Medical Center Region 4 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Mark S Orloff Strong Memorial Hospital, University of Rochester Medical Center Region 9 Representative 6/30/2022  
Dr. Jorge D Reyes University of Washington Medical Center Region 6 Representative 6/30/2022  
Dr. James F Trotter Baylor University Medical Center Ex Officio 6/30/2022  
Dr. Kymberly D Watt Mayo Clinic Hospital Minnesota At Large 6/30/2024  

Meeting Summaries

Reports to the board of directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.