Skip to main content

Kidney Transplantation Committee

The Kidney Transplantation Committee is charged with considering medical, scientific, and ethical aspects related to kidney organ procurement, distribution, and allocation. The Committee considers both the broad implications and the specific member situations relating to kidney issues and policies. The goal of the Committee's work is to develop evidence-based policies aimed at reducing the burden of renal disease in transplant patients (candidates and recipients), increasing kidney utilization, improving access to kidney transplantation as appropriate, and improving the health outcomes of kidney transplant recipients.

Waiting time adjustments approved for kidney candidates affected by race-based eGFR calculations.

Programs required to submit modification forms by Jan. 3, 2024.

Learn about the Board action

Current Projects


Board approved and pending implementation


chair icon Chair
  • Dr. Martha Pavlakis
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
vicechair icon Vice Chair
  • Dr. Jim Kim
  • Keck Hospital of USC
liaison icon Liaison
liaison icon Liaison
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Kristen M Adams LifeSource Upper Midwest Organ Procurement Organization Region 7 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Sanjeev K Akkina Loyola University Medical Center At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. P. Stephen Almond Driscoll Children's Hospital Region 4 Representative 6/30/2024  
Dr. Arpita Basu Emory University Hospital Region 3 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. James S Bowman Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Ms. Marian B Charlton Hackensack University Medical Center At Large 6/30/2024  
Ms. Marilee Clites Research Medical Center At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. Beatrice Concepcion University of Chicago Medical Center At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. Jesse L Cox Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory at The Nebraska Medical Center Region 8 Representative 6/30/2025  
Patrick O Gee General Public Region 2 At Large 6/30/2025  
Dr. Elliot I Grodstein North Shore University Hospital/Northwell Health Region 9 Representative 6/30/2023  
Ms. Tania A Houle Legacy of Hope At Large 6/30/2025  
Dr. Caroline C Jadlowiec Mayo Clinic Hospital Arizona Region 5 Representative 6/30/2024  
Dr. Peter N Lalli Immunology Laboratory at Carolinas Medical Center Region 11 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Marilyn E Levi Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Ms. Precious McCowan General Public Region 4 At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. Jason A Rolls Christiana Care Health Services Region 2 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. Chandrasekar Santhanakrishnan Swedish Medical Center Region 6 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. Oscar K Serrano Hartford Hospital Region 1 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Asif A Sharfuddin Indiana University Health Region 10 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Nidyanandh Vadivel Swedish Medical Center At Large 6/30/2024  

Reports to the Board of Directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.