Skip to main content

Histocompatibility Committee

The Histocompatibility Committee applies evolving science and technology in transplant immunology to develop, implement, and inform OPTN bylaws, policies, and clinical guidance for organ donation and transplantation. The Committee provides subject matter expertise to the OPTN for issues related to testing, matching, allocation, personnel qualifications, and other issues in transplant histocompatibility and immunology. The Committee’s goals are to promote patient safety, to strive to continuously improve clinical outcomes, and maximize the use of donated organs.

Current Projects


Board approved and pending implementation


chair icon Chair
  • Dr. John G Lunz
  • LifeLink Transplantation Immunology Laboratory
vicechair icon Vice Chair
  • Dr. Gerald P Morris
  • Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics Laboratory at UCSD
liaison icon Liaison
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Roshini Abraham General Public Region 10 At Large 6/30/2026  
Dr. Caroline E Alquist Hoxworth Blood Center Transplantation Immunology Laboratory At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Laurine M Bow Histocompatibility and Immune Evaluation Laboratory at Yale Region 1 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. James S Bowman Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Ms. Amber R Carriker Mid-America Transplant Services Laboratory Region 8 Representative 6/30/2024  
Ms. Julie A Houp Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics Laboratory CTI at UAB Region 3 Representative 6/30/2026  
Dr. Andres Jaramillo Mayo Clinic in Arizona Histocompatibility Laboratory Region 5 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. Marilyn E Levi Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2025  
Helene McMurray Tissue Typing Laboratory at Strong Memorial Hospital Region 9 Representative 6/30/2026  
Dr. Omar M Moussa Tissue Typing Laboratory at the Medical University of South Carolina Region 11 Representative 6/30/2024  
Darryl C Nethercot Lifesharing - A Donate Life Organization At Large 6/30/2026  
Ms. Stephanie L Osier UF Health Shands Hospital At Large 6/30/2026  
Dr. Hemant K Parekh Clinical Histocompatibility Lab at Ohio State University Medical Center Region 10 Representative 6/30/2026  
Dr. Jerome G Saltarrelli Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Crystal Y Usenko Histocompatibility Laboratory at Scott and White Memorial Hospital Region 4 Representative 6/30/2026  
Dr. Qingyong Xu University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Histocompatibility Laboratory, Presbyterian Clinical Laboratories Region 2 Representative 6/30/2025  

Reports to the Board of Directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.