Skip to main content

Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee aims to guide the policies and practices of the OPTN related to organ donation, procurement, distribution, allocation, and transplantation so they are consistent with ethical principles. The Committee makes recommendations to Board of Directors for changing, creating, or eliminating policies if warranted by ethical concerns. The Committee also provides written guidance pertaining to ethical considerations to OPTN members, after approval by the Board of Directors. The Committee does not address individual patient issues or disputes.

  • Dr. Keren Ladin
  • General Public Region 1
Vice Chair
  • Dr. Andrew Flescher
  • General Public Region 9
Members Organization Position End Term Date
Dr. Melissa D Anderson General Public Region 10 Region 10 Representative 6/30/2024  
Ms. Laurel Avery General Public Region 11 Visiting Board Member 6/30/2023  
Dr. George Bayliss Rhode Island Hospital Region 1 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. David W Bearl Vanderbilt University Medical Center Region 11 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. Lynsey S Biondi West Virginia University Hospitals Inc. Region 2 Representative 6/30/2023  
Dr. James S Bowman Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2023  
Dr. Ivan (Glenn) Cohen General Public Region 1 At Large 6/30/2023  
Jennifer Dillon General Public Region 9 Region 9 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. Thao N Galvan CHI St. Luke's Health Baylor College of Medicine Medical Center Region 4 Representative 6/30/2024  
Dr. Sanjay Kulkarni Yale New Haven Hospital At Large 6/30/2023  
Dr. Marilyn E Levi Division of Transplantation, HHS Ex Officio (non voting) 6/30/2023  
Dr. Ehab R Saad Froedtert Memorial Lutheran Hospital Region 7 Representative 6/30/2024  
Dr. Erica J Stohs The Nebraska Medical Center Region 8 Representative 6/30/2025  
Dr. Carrie Thiessen University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics At Large 6/30/2024  
Dr. Robert D Truog General Public Region 1 At Large 6/30/2025  
Ms. Megan Urbanski Emory University Hospital Region 3 Representative 6/30/2025  
Ms. Felicia Wells-Williams Legacy of Life Hawaii Region 6 Representative 6/30/2025  
Ms. Sena A Wilson-Sheehan Mayo Clinic Hospital Arizona Region 5 Representative 6/30/2024  

Meeting Summaries

Reports to the Board of Directors

Looking for something else? Contact us at or (804) 782-4800. We maintain an archive of historical OPTN documents.