

# **Meeting Summary**

# OPTN Ad Hoc Disease Transmission Advisory Committee Meeting Summary April 22, 2024 Conference Call

# Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH Stephanie Pouch, MD, MS

#### Introduction

The Ad Hoc Disease Transmission Advisory Committee (the Committee) met via Webex teleconference on 4/22/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Review & Vote: Patient Safety Contact Policy Language
- 2. Closed Session Case Review

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussion.

#### 1. Review & Vote: Patient Safety Contact Policy Language

On March 26, 2024, the Committee discussed post-public comment changes to the proposed policy language in the *Standardize the Patient Safety Contact* (PSC) *and Reduce Duplicate Reporting* proposal. The Committee reviewed updated policy language for the proposal, reflecting the removal of the proposed requirement for the PSC to work for the member institution and clarification of the PSC responsibilities.

#### **Summary of discussion:**

The Committee supported submitting the proposal for Board approval in June 2024. Votes were as follows: 11 supported; 0 abstained; 0 opposed.

There was no discussion by the Committee.

#### Next steps:

The OPTN Board of Directors will review and vote on this proposal at their June 2024 meeting.

#### 2. Closed Session Case Review

The Committee had a closed session review of potential donor-derived transmission events.

#### **Upcoming Meeting**

TBD

#### **Attendance (Open Session)**

#### • Committee Members

- o Lara Danziger-Isakov
- Stephanie Pouch
- o Riki Graves
- Marty Sellers
- o Rachel Miller
- o Charles Marboe
- o Dong Heun Lee
- o R. Patrick Wood
- o Cindy Fisher
- o Gerald Berry
- o Helen Te
- Sarah Taimur
- o Sam Ho
- o Anna Hughart-Smith
- o Maheen Abidi

## • CDC Representatives

- o Sridhar Basavaraju
- o Pallavi Annambhotla
- o Ian Kracalik
- o Isabel Griffin

#### • HRSA Representatives

o Marilyn Levi

#### FDA Representatives

Scott Brubaker

#### SRTR Staff

o n/a

#### UNOS Staff

- o Tamika Watkins
- o Cole Fox
- o Leah Nunez
- o Sandy Bartal
- o Sara Langham
- o Susan Tlusty
- o Kelley Poff

#### • Other Attendees

- o Jim Sharrock
- o Alejandro Diez

#### **Attendance (Closed Session)**

#### • Committee Members

- o Lara Danziger-Isakov
- o Stephanie Pouch
- o Riki Graves
- o Marty Sellers
- o Rachel Miller

- o Charles Marboe
- o Dong Heun Lee
- o R. Patrick Wood
- o Cindy Fisher
- o Gerald Berry
- o Helen Te
- o Sarah Taimur
- o Sam Ho
- o Anna Hughart-Smith
- o Maheen Abidi

#### • CDC Representatives

- o Sridhar Basavaraju
- o Pallavi Annambhotla
- o lan Kracalik
- o Isabel Griffin

## • HRSA Representatives

- o Marilyn Levi
- FDA Representatives
  - Scott Brubaker

# • UNOS Staff

- o Tamika Watkins
- o Leah Nunez
- o Sandy Bartal
- o Houlder Hudgins