

Meeting Summary

OPTN Lung Transplantation Committee Promote Efficiency of Lung Allocation Workgroup Meeting Summary November 12, 2024 Conference Call

Matthew Hartwig, MD, Chair Dennis Lyu, MD, Vice Chair

Introduction

The Promote Efficiency of Lung Allocation Workgroup (Workgroup) met via Webex teleconference on 11/12/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

1. Modify Lung Donor Data Collection

The following is a summary of the Workgroup's discussions.

1. Modify Lung Donor Data Collection

In May 2024, the Workgroup recommended part one of the Lung Donor Testing project to the Lung Transplantation Committee (the Committee). Part one included updates to <u>OPTN Policy 2.11.D</u>: *Required Information for Deceased Lung Donors* and <u>Guidance</u> on Requested Deceased Donor Information.

The *Modify Lung Donor Data Collection* proposal will include data collection and other system changes. The Workgroup has discussed changes related to lung donor bronchoscopies, chest computed tomography (CT) scans, smoking history, predicted Total Lung Capacity (pTLC), lung measurements, and Peak Inspiratory Pressure (PIP).

Summary of discussion:

The Workgroup recommended the *Modify Lung Donor Data Collection* proposal to the Committee. All members supported the recommendation; none abstained or opposed the vote.

The Committee reviewed data fields, associated data definitions, and final mockups for the *Modify Lung Donor Data Collection* proposal. There was discussion of clarifying questions related to the proposal.

The Workgroup recommended the *Modify Lung Donor Data Collection* proposal to the Committee. All members supported the recommendation; none abstained or opposed the vote.

Next steps:

The Committee will finalize the *Modify Lung Donor Testing Data Collection* proposal during their meeting on November 14, 2024.

Attendance

• Workgroup Members

- o Matthew Hartwig
- o Dennis Lyu
- Marie Budev
- o Ernestina Melicoff
- o Mike Morrow
- Thomas Kaleekal
- o PJ Geraghty
- o Jackie Russe
- o Lara Schaheen
- HRSA Representatives
 - o James Bowman
- SRTR Staff
 - o David Schladt
 - o Katie Audette
 - o Maria Masotti
- UNOS Staff
 - o Kelley Poff
 - o Kaitlin Swanner
 - o Leah Nunez
 - o Chelsea Hawkins
 - o Holly Sobczak
 - o Samantha Weiss
 - Houlder Hudgins
 - o Sara Rose Wells