

OPTN Ad Hoc Disease Transmission Advisory Committee Meeting Summary October 23, 2023 Conference Call

Lara Danziger-Isakov, MD, MPH, Chair Stephanie Pouch, MD, MS, Vice Chair

Introduction

The Ad Hoc Disease Transmission Advisory Committee (the Committee) met via Cisco Webex teleconference on 10/23/2023 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Vice Chair Nomination Process
- 2. VOTE: Recognizing Seasonal and Geographically Endemic Infections in Organ Donors: Considerations for Deceased and Living Donation
- 3. Closed Session Case Review

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Vice Chair Nomination Process

The Committee received an overview of the Vice Chair nomination process and how to apply for the position beginning July 1, 2024.

Summary of discussion:

This was not an agenda item that required a decision; there were no decisions made by the Committee.

There was no further discussion by the Committee.

2. Vote: Recognizing Seasonal and Geographically Endemic Infections in Organ Donors: Considerations for Deceased and Living Donation

The Committee voted to send a final version the guidance document, *Recognizing Seasonal and Geographically Endemic Infections in Organ Donors: Considerations for Deceased and Living Donation* to the OPTN Board of Directors for approval on December 4, 2023.

Summary of discussion:

Decision #1: The Committee unanimously approved sending this guidance document to the OPTN Board of Directors for approval.

There was no further discussion by the Committee.

3. Closed Session Case Review

The Committee had a closed session review of potential donor-derived transmission events.

Upcoming Meeting

• November 7, 2023, 3pm EST, teleconference

Attendance

- Committee Members
 - o Anna Hughart-Smith
 - Cindy Fisher
 - o Dong Heun Lee
 - o Helen Te
 - o Maheen Abidi
 - o Gerald Berry
 - o Marty Sellers
 - o Lara Danziger-Isakov
 - o R. Patrick Wood
 - o Sarah Taimur
 - Stephanie Pouch
 - o Tanvi Sharma
 - o Riki Graves
 - o Sam Ho

• HRSA Representatives

- o Marilyn Levi
- o Jim Bowman
- CDC Staff
 - o Sridhar Basavaraju
 - o Pallavi Annambhotla
 - o Isabel Griffin
- UNOS Staff
 - o Sandy Bartal
 - o Cole Fox
 - Houlder Hudgins
 - o Laura Schmitt
 - o Leah Nunez
 - o Susan Tlusty
 - o Sara Langham
 - o Sara Rose Wells
 - o Taylor Livelli
 - o Tamika Watkins