

OPTN Nominating Committee Meeting Summary May 8, 2024 Webex

Richard Formica, MD, Chair

Introduction

The Nominating Committee held a closed session via Webex 05/08/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Welcome
- 2. 2025-2026 Board Needs Assessment
- 3. 2025-2026 Committee Needs Assessment
- 4. Next Steps and Adjourn

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussion.

1. Welcome

Rich Formica, Chair and OPTN Vice President, welcomed the committee and walked the members through the agenda for the meeting.

2. 2025-2026 Board Needs Assessment

The Committee reviewed the final draft of the Board Needs Assessment based on their discussions and feedback from the meeting on April 22, 2024. The committee further refined the preferred perspectives. The committee discussed the Medical/Scientific Organization positions on the Board and whether those should be contested or non-contested. After discussion, the committee decided to continue with the process of selecting nominees from Medical/Scientific Organizations to run on non-contested ballots.

3. 2025-2026 Committee Needs Assessment

OPTN Contractor staff presented the gap analysis and Needs Assessment process conducted by committee leadership and Regional Nominating Committees to prepare the Committee Needs Assessment. The committee commended the staff for the thorough and inclusive process and began to discuss the many facets of the process that may need to be transitioned to a new contractor as part of HRSA's OPTN Modernization Initiative.

4. Next Steps and Adjourn

Based on feedback from the committee, contractor staff will prepare a final draft of the Board and Committee Needs Assessment and will distribute it to the committee for review and a final vote.

Attendance

• Committee Members

- Colleen McCarthy
- o Erika Demars
- o Jen Lau
- o Jerry McCauley
- o Luis Hidalgo
- o Matthew Cooper
- o Richard Formica
- o Silas Norman
- o Wendy Garrison

• HRSA Representatives

- o Adrienne Goodrich-Doctor
- o Aite Aigbe
- o Andi Sill
- UNOS Staff
 - o Anna Messmer
 - o Morgan Jupe
 - o Sally Aungier
 - o Susie Sprinson
 - o Tina Rhoades