

Meeting Summary

OPTN Minority Affairs Committee
Meeting Summary
November 21, 2022
Conference Call

Paulo Martins, MD, Ph.D., Chair Alejandro Diez, MD, Vice Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Minority Affairs Committee (the Committee) met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 11/21/2022 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. NASEM Presentation
- 2. NASEM Discussion

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. NASEM Presentation

The Committee heard a presentation on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) report.

Summary of discussion:

A member asked what NASEM stands for and what members comprise this organization. The presenter replied that NASEM is a national organization and stands for National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. They explained that NASEM includes hundreds of memberships who are respected scientists that are nominated by their peers across the country.

2. NASEM Discussion

The Committee discussed potential projects related to the NASEM report.

Summary of discussion:

A member commented that when sarcoidosis patients are preparing for a lung transplant, patients are classified into one of four categories for their native disease. The categories are important because it predicts their waitlist outcomes, post—transplant mortality, and it affects how many points a patient would receive before being added to the waitlist. The categories result in patients receiving more or fewer points. A patient that receives fewer points has worse outcomes. The member suggested the Committee could look at data related to this to help reduce disparities in sarcoidosis patients. A member asked which race is most likely impacted by sarcoidosis. A member replied that sarcoidosis is more common in African American patients.

Upcoming Meeting

January 23, 2023

Attendance

Committee Members

- o Paulo Martins
- o Adrian Lawrence
- o Amaka Eneanya
- o Anthony Panos
- o Ayana Andrews-Joseph
- o Carol Covington
- o Christine Hwang
- o Jason Narverud
- o Monica Colvin
- o Reynold Lopez-Soler
- o Shelly Grant
- o Stephen Gray
- o Tony Urey
- Wayne Tsuang

• HRSA Representatives

- o Jim Bowman
- Marilyn Levi

SRTR Staff

o Bryn Thompson

UNOS Staff

- Tamika Watkins
- o Kelley Poff
- o Alex Carmack
- o Darby Harris
- o James Alcorn
- o Jesse Howell
- Mel Farley
- Sara Moriarty
- o Stryker-Ann Vosteen