

Meeting Summary

OPTN Transplant Administrators Committee Meeting Summary January 22, 2024 Conference Call

Susan Zyzlicz, MHA, BSN, CCTC, Chair Jason Huff, MSN, RN, FNKF, Vice Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Transplant Administrators Committee (the Committee) met via Cisco WebEx teleconference on 01/22/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Special Public Comment Proposal: Expedited Placement Variance
- 2. Other Significant Items

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Special Public Comment Proposal: Expedited Placement Variance

The Committee heard the public comment proposal on *Expedited Placement Variance*.

Summary of discussion:

The Committee will provide their feedback on the proposal.

A member asked whether OPOs are expected to put proposed protocols into public comment responses or if there are other avenues through which to send potential protocols. It was affirmed that the Executive Committee looks forward to receiving protocols through any means.

A member recommended that further clarity be provided about which organs the variance could apply to, as the perception is the variance and subsequent proposals should only apply to kidney. Additionally, members sought further clarification on how OPOs should continue to operate once the public comment period ends, during the period of time proposals are being considered by the Executive Committee.

Members also sought further clarification on how the proposed protocols will be sequenced and how they might be operationalized.

Next steps:

The Committees comments will be summarized and provided as public comment feedback to the proposal online.

2. Other Significant Items

The Chair sought further information on a previous Committee conversation regarding standardizing OPTN implementations. Staff updated stating that the idea is under consideration with IT and will be brought to the Executive Committee soon. Future updates will be provided as they become available.

Upcoming Meetings

- February 26, 2024
- March 6, 2024 (in-person)

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Susan Zylicz
- Sarah Madgwick
- o John Gutowski
- o Kay Shields Ragan
- o Megan Fairbank
- o Chuck Zollinger
- o Brian Cruddas
- o Dorrie Dils
- o Chris Wood
- o Sara Geatrakas
- o Katie Dokus
- o Laura O'Melia
- o Kristin Smith
- o Rachel Detwiler
- o Jason Huff
- o Luke Preczewski
- HRSA Representatives
 - Arjun Naik
- UNOS Staff
 - o James Alcorn
 - o Lindsay Larkin
 - o Stryker-Ann Vosteen
 - o Kristina Hogan