OPTN Nominating Committee Meeting Summary November 28, 2022 Conference Call

Dianne LaPointe Rudow, ANP-BC, DNP, FAAN, Chair

Introduction

The Nominating Committee held a closed session via Microsoft Teams on 11/28/2022 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Welcome & Updates
- 2. At-Large Vacancy Discussion

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussion.

1. Welcome & Updates

Dianne LaPointe Rudow, Chair welcomed everyone and thanked them for their availability to meet.

2. At-Large Vacancy Discussion

Dianne LaPointe Rudow, Chair, updated the committee on Merry Smith's resignation from the board. The resignation created a vacancy of an At-Large Patient and Donor Affairs representative. Ms. Rudow discussed with the committee the bylaw language that charges the Nominating Committee with appointing a replacement for the remainder of the term. The remainder of Ms. Smith's term on the Board of Directors is through 6/30/2023. The committee discussed what qualifications they are seeking from a potential replacement. The committee decided that the appointment must be a donor family representative to ensure continuity of perspective on the Board of Directors. The committee also came to the consensus that given the shortened term, the potential replacement should have recent prior board service in order to mitigate the need for extensive onboarding. The committee agreed the potential replacement should be aware of current projects and priorities of the Board in order to enhance the engagement of the donor family perspective in these matters. The committee came to a consensus on their recommendation for the potential replacement of Ms. Smith's vacancy.

Next steps:

The committee will present their appointment recommendation as the first action item of the December 5, 2022 OPTN Board of Directors meeting. If the Board approves the appointment, the candidate will become an active voting participant in the OPTN Board of Directors meeting, effective immediately.

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Dianne LaPointe Rudow
- o Jan Finn
- o Jerry McCauley
- o Jim Sharrock
- Laurel Avery
- o Manish Gandhi
- o Mark Barr
- o Matt Cooper
- o Meg Rogers
- o Melissa McQueen
- o Valinda Jones
- Wendy Garrison

• HRSA Representatives

- o Adrienne Goodrich-Doctor
- o Chris McLaughlin

• UNOS Staff

- o Anna Messmer
- o Morgan Jupe
- o Sally Aungier
- o Susie Sprinson
- o Tina Rhoades