

Meeting Summary

OPTN Nominating Committee
Meeting Summary
November 08, 2021
Conference Call

Jerry McCauley, MD, Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Nominating Committee met via teleconference on 11/08/2021 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. At-Large Vacancies: OPO and Lung MD
- 2. Updates and Next Steps

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. At-Large Vacancies: OPO and Lung MD

Dr. McCauley welcomed the committee to their meeting. They reviewed the final nominees and ballot pairings selected to-date. A member of the committee provided a report on phone interviews with OPO nominees. The committee discussed the potential candidates Based on the results of the screening calls, VI form submissions, and the identified needs of the Board, the committee selected two final nominees for a ballot pairing. Another member of the committee delivered a report on phone interviews with lung MD nominees. The committee discussed the nominees and selected two final nominees for a ballot pairing.

2. Updates and Next Steps

During the meeting, the committee did not have quorum and was unable to vote to recommend the full slate of nominees to the Board for approval. The committee voted via-email following the meeting and the slate was unanimously approved.

UNOS staff shared details of next steps and outreach to nominees. All finalists will be contacted and asked to submit materials for the January 2022 Board of directors election. All candidates who applied or were screened but not selected will receive a communication informing them of their application status and other volunteer opportunities. On December 6, 2021, Dr. McCauley will deliver the Nominating Committee report to the Board, and the Board will take action on the slate of nominees and the revisions to Bylaw 3.1. Following the conclusion of the Board election in January 2022, the Nominating Committee will meet to write the 2023-2024 Board and Committee Needs Assessment. Dr. McCauley thanked the committee for their hard work this fall and the meeting adjourned.

Upcoming Meetings

February 2022 – TBD

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Jerry McCauley, Chair
- o Matthew Cooper
- o David Mulligan
- o Maryl Johnson
- o Mindy Dison
- o Melissa McQueen
- o Laurel Avery
- o Joe Ferreira
- o Brian Shepard, OPTN Executive Director (non-voting)

• HRSA Representatives

- o Shannon Taitt
- o Vanessa Arriola

UNOS Staff

- o Carrie Caumont
- o Susie Sprinson
- o Anna Wall
- o Sally Aungier
- o Tina Rhoades