

OPTN Membership and Professional Standards Committee (MPSC) Meeting Summary December 8, 2022

Zoe Stewart Lewis, M.D., Chair Scott Lindberg, M.D., Vice Chair

Introduction

The Membership and Professional Standards Committee (MPSC) virtually via Citrix GoToTraining in open session on December 8, 2022. The following agenda items were discussed during the meeting:

- 1. Report of Investigative Activities
- 2. Offer Acceptance Collaborative Update

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Report of Investigative Activities

Staff provided a report of all events received by the Patient Safety team from October-November 2022. The report included the number of reports, the modes of receipt, reporter types, case subjects, and event types. The report also included data on the number and percentage of reports referred to the MPSC, not referred, or still being investigated, and how many of the reports were substantiated or unsubstantiated.

The bulk of the presentation focused on reports that staff did not refer to the full MPSC for review and action, and the reasons those reports were not referred. Reasons for not referring included prior review by MPSC leadership and/or HRSA, the report being unsubstantiated, and a lack of policy noncompliance or obvious patient safety issue.

One committee member asked about the categories of automated reports and staff described the specific types of events that can be flagged by the current automated reports. The same member asked how staff are able to manage the cases that are being actively investigated given the substantial number of cases staff are actively investigating. Staff explained the case tracking database and the overall processes involved in active case investigation.

2. Offer Acceptance Collaborative Update

Staff provided an update on the planned offer acceptance collaborative, which will support the MPSC's implementation of the offer acceptance rate ratio metric in July 2023. The collaborative is being developed to share effective offer acceptance practices and help transplant programs utilize improvement activities to increase their offer acceptance rates. The update included the timeline of events, member communication, conference planning, resource development, and the collaborative framework. The update provided a breakdown of the different programs participating in the collaborative including the breakdown of programs, regions, and adult and pediatric programs. This is the largest collaborative effort to date with over 80 hospitals and programs represented. Staff also provided an update on the resource development and plans to post to the OPTN website in the current

tool kit. There will be a Kick-off conference in Orlando, Florida January 31st and February 1st. Staff described the format of the conference as well as the proposed plenary sessions and breakout sessions.

One committee member asked about who staff recommend sending to the event. Staff explained that we are asking two representatives from each program to attend. Ideally, the recommendation is to send staff who are informed on the offer acceptance process and have direct involvement with the improvement work or oversight of that work. The same member asked to encourage thought on the cost of organ donor calls; many transplant hospitals are facing a double in cost. One committee member asked about participation and engagement with the OPO's as well. Staff explained that this collaborative is focused on transplant programs but are open to suggestions on how to involve OPO's in the conference. The same committee member offered to collaborate with an OPO for a session based on communication.

Upcoming Meetings

- o January 20, 2022, 3-5pm, ET
- February 16-17, 2023, Chicago
- o March 20, 2023, 3-5pm, ET
- o April 24, 2023, 3-5pm, ET
- o May 22, 2023, 3-5pm, ET
- o June 21, 2023, 3-5pm, ET

Attendance

o Committee Members

- o Alan Betensley
- o Emily Blumberg
- o Anil Chandraker
- o Todd Dardas
- o Robert Fontana
- o Reginald Gohh
- o Barbara Gordon
- o Lafaine Grant
- o Robert Harland
- o Kyle Herber
- Victoria Hunter
- o lan Jamieson
- o Christopher Jones
- o Andrew Kao
- o Catherine Kling
- o Michael Kwan
- o Dianne LaPointe Rudow
- o Carolyn Light
- Scott Lindberg
- o Melinda Locklear
- o Gabriel Maine
- o Amit Mathur
- o Nancy Metzler
- o Dan Meyer
- o Bhargav Mistry
- o Regina Palke
- o Sara Rasmussen
- o Pooja Singh
- o Jason Smith
- Zoe Stewart Lewis
- o Laura Stillion
- o Sean Van Slyck
- o J. David Vega
- o Candy Wells

• HRSA Representatives

- o James Bowman
- o Shannon Dunne
- o Marilyn Levi
- o Arjun Naik

o SRTR Staff

- o Ryutaro Hirose
- o Jonathan Miller
- o Jon Snyder
- o Bryn Thompson

• UNOS Staff

- o Sally Aungier
- o Matt Belton
- o Tameka Bland
- o Kate Breitbeil
- o Rebecca Brookman
- o Robyn DiSalvo
- o Nadine Drumn
- o Katie Favaro
- o Jasmine Gaines
- o Lauren Guerra
- o Trung Le
- o Ann-Marie Leary
- o Jason Livingston
- o Ann McPherson
- o Sandy Miller
- o Amy Minkler
- o Sara Moriarty
- o Alan Nicholas
- o Samantha Noreen
- o Jacqui O'Keefe
- o Beth Overacre
- o Rob Patterson
- o Michelle Rabold
- Sharon Shepherd
- o Kay Sheranek
- o Olivia Taylor
- o Stephon Thelwell
- o Marta Waris
- o Betsy Warnick
- o Trevi Wilson
- o Claudia Woisard
- o Emily Womble
- o Karen Wooten
- o Other Attendees
 - o None