

# **Meeting Summary**

# OPTN Nominating Committee Meeting Summary September 12, 2023 Webex

### Richard Formica, MD, Chair

#### Introduction

The Nominating Committee held a closed session via Webex 09/12/2023 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Medical/Scientific Society Nominee Decision
- 3. Vice President Ballot Discussion

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussion.

#### 1. Welcome

Rich Formica, Chair and OPTN Vice President welcomed the committee and walked them through the agenda for the meeting.

#### 2. Medical/Scientific Society Nominee Process

Dr. Formica reminded the committee of the discussion during their last meeting and asked the committee to vote on the proposed process change regarding the Histocompatibility nominees. The committee approved the request to alternate histocompatibility nominees annually from the American Society of Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI) and College of American Pathologists (CAP) to run on non-contested ballots.

#### Next steps:

UNOS staff will reach out to CAP with the invitation to nominate a Histocompatibility representative to run on a non-contested ballot for the 2024 Board election.

#### 3. Vice President Ballot Discussion

Dr. Formica asked that the committee discuss what the phenotype of the next Vice president should be. The committee had a robust discussion around what specialty, perspectives, or expertise the Vice President should represent given the current and predicted state of the OPTN. The committee also discussed the soft skills the Vice President will need.

## Next steps:

The committee will continue to review candidates prior to their next call. On September 25, the committee will review the list of names from the survey results and begin to finalize the list of VP candidates that should be phone screened.

# Attendance

# • Committee Members

- o Colleen McCarthy
- o Dianne LaPointe Rudow
- o Erika Demars
- o Jennifer Lau
- o Jerry McCauley
- o Jim Sharrock
- o Luis Hidalgo
- o Nicole Hayde
- o Richard Formica
- o Silas Norman

# • HRSA Representatives

o Vanessa Arriola

# UNOS Staff

- o Anna Messmer
- o Morgan Jupe