

## OPTN Minority Affairs Committee (MAC) and OPTN Kidney Transplantation Committee Reassess Race in Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) Calculation Workgroup Meeting Summary May 28, 2021 Conference Call

# Irene Kim, MD, MAC Chair Paulo Martins, MD, PhD, MAC Vice Chair Martha Pavlakis, MD, Kidney Committee Vice Chair

### Introduction

The Reassess Race in eGFR Calculation Workgroup (the Workgroup) met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 05/28/2021 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Policy Oversight Committee Feedback
- 2. Summary of Workgroup Feedback
- 3. Discuss Draft Request for Feedback (RFF) Questions

The following is a summary of the Workgroup's discussions.

### 1. Policy Oversight Committee Feedback

The Workgroup reviewed feedback from the Policy Oversight Committee (POC).

#### Summary of discussion:

The Workgroup garnered unanimous support for the project from the POC. A member suggested that the RFF should clarify that OPTN does not currently prescribe what eGFR calculation must be used.

#### 2. Summary of Workgroup Feedback

The Workgroup reviewed the feedback from the May 3, 2021 meeting.

#### Summary of discussion:

A member suggested that the Workgroup should address potential opposing viewpoints, including concerns that a new policy that could be considered more stringent than current policy. UNOS staff noted the difference between policy that requires exclusion or the Black race coefficient and policy that requires the use of one particular formula. The Workgroup determined they would prefer to remove the race coefficient from eGFR formulae as opposed to establish a universal eGFR formula.

A member suggested the Workgroup could endorse CKD-EPI and the KDIGO guidelines. The Workgroup determined that UNOS should not prescribe that level of specificity, noting the OPTN policy development process. A member remarked the RFF document should ask which eGFR formula programs are using with special attention the amount of preference for CKD- EPI.

#### Next steps:

UNOS staff will use these recommendations when drafting the Request for Feedback (RFF).

## 3. Discuss Draft Request for Feedback Questions

The Workgroup developed Request for Feedback (RFF) questions.

## Summary of discussion:

A member noted that a policy proposal would have the most impact and reduce variation in patient listing experience. For this reason, the Workgroup is considering a policy proposal.

A member asked if a potential policy proposal should impact the kidney transplant waiting list retrospectively or prospectively. The Workgroup determined that this is outside the current purview of the RFF and should be considered at a later date. A member suggested that the RFF should ask transplant programs about their use of creatinine clearance, but it was determined that this would be outside the current eGFR focused scope. A member suggested including a question to discern whether programs have taken independent action to remove the race coefficient from their eGFR calculations.

A member suggested conducting targeted outreach to patients to gather their perspective on the removal of the Black race coefficient from the eGFR formula. This member suggested developing a one-pager for this audience to increase participation during the public comment period.

## Next steps:

UNOS staff will use this feedback to draft a RFF for the August 2021 public comment period.

## **Upcoming Meeting**

• TBD

#### Attendance

## • Workgroup Members

- o Denise Alveranga
- o Arpita Basu
- o Alejandro Diez
- o Amaka Eneanya
- o Irene Kim
- o Jim Kim
- o Paulo Martins
- o Precious McCowan
- o Oyedolamu Olaitan
- o Martha Pavlakis
- o Peter Reese
- o Oscar Serrano

## • HRSA Representatives

- o Vanessa Arriola
- o Jim Bowman
- o Marilyn Levi
- o Raelene Skerda
- SRTR Staff
  - o Ajay Israni
  - o Jonathan Miller
  - o Bryn Thompson
- UNOS Staff
  - o Nicole Benjamin
  - o Savannah Holmes
  - o Brittany Judge
  - o Lindsay Larkin
  - o Kelsi Lindblad
  - o Anne McPherson
  - o Lauren Motley
  - o Kelley Poff
  - o Kaitlin Swanner
  - o Kayla Temple
  - Ross Walton
  - o Joann White