OPTN Ethics Committee Meeting Summary October 15, 2020 Conference Call

Keren Ladin, PhD, Chair Andrew Flescher, PhD, Vice Chair

Introduction

The Ethics Committee met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 10/15/2020 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Review CAT Rewrite
- 2. Committee vote to submit CAT Rewrite for Public Comment

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Review CAT Rewrite

The Committee reviewed the version of the *General Considerations in Assessment for Transplant Candidacy* (CAT) included in the meeting materials.

Summary of discussion:

The Chair thanked the Committee and the CAT Rewrite Subcommittee for their hard work and dedication to writing this paper.

The Committee members were asked to provide comments about the draft presented. No comments were made.

UNOS staff informed the Committee that the project is still pending an official determination of authority from HRSA. This has the potential to impact the next steps of the project.

2. Committee vote to submit CAT Rewrite for Public Comment

The Committee was asked to vote to recommend moving forward with the *General Considerations in Assessment for Transplant Candidacy* pending the determination of OPTN authority.

Summary of discussion:

The Chair asked the Committee if any members are opposed to moving the paper forward to public comment pending the determination of OPTN authority. No objections were raised by a quorum of 13 members present on the conference call. The *General Considerations in Assessment for Transplant Candidacy* will move forward to public comment pending the determination of OPTN authority based on the Committee's vote of 13 yes; 0 no; and 0 abstained.

Next steps:

The Committee will reconvene at the next meeting on November 19, 2020.

Upcoming Meeting

• November 19, 2020

Attendance

• Committee Members

- Amy Friedman
 - Andrew Flescher
 - Catherine Vascik
 - o Colleen Reed
 - o Elisa Gordon
 - George Bayliss
 - o Glenn Cohen
 - Keren Ladin
 - o Lynsey Biondi
 - o Mahwish Ahmad
 - o Roshan George
 - Sanjay Kulkarni
 - Tania Lyons

• HRSA Representatives

- o Jim Bowman
- o Marilyn Levi
- UNOS Staff
 - Eric Messick
 - o Ross Walton
 - Sarah Konigsburg
 - o Susan Tlusty
- Other Attendees