OPTN Executive Committee Prioritization Work Group Meeting Summary February 27, 2024 Webex

Andrea Tietjen, MBA, CPA, Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Executive Committee Prioritization Work Group met via Webex teleconference on 2/27/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Welcome and Announcements
- 2. Small Work Group Output Wednesday Group
- 3. Small Work Group Output Thursday Group
- 4. Alignment

1. Welcome and Announcements

Andrea Tietjen, Chair of the Prioritization Work Group, welcomed the work group members to the meeting. Ms. Tietjen reminded the work group of their problem statement and scope of work. The work group reviewed the current policy development process and the charge of each small work group. Ms. Tietjen shared that the objectives of today's meeting were to review survey feedback from the work group, discuss each small group's work, and to align on the key focus areas and next steps.

Contractor staff presented the survey results to the committee and shared the key themes from the survey. Key themes included: enhanced resource analysis, prioritization scoring tools and data, alignment with the strategic plan, and increased transparency and communication between Committees, the Policy Oversight Committee (POC), and the Board.

2. Small Work Group Output – Wednesday Group

Ginny McBride reported to the work group on Wednesday's Group feedback. Ms. McBride shared the key areas of discussion focused on idea generation, early prioritization prior to progression to the Board, strategic plan alignment, and defined roles of the Policy Oversight Committee, Executive Committee, and Board.

Summary of Discussion:

The work group discussed the suggested process map of the Wednesday Group. Benefits of the suggested process included early committee collaboration and a mechanism for the public to submit ideas. Challenges included the role of the POC and defining priorities.

3. Small Work Group Output – Thursday Group

Kim Koontz reported to the work group on Thursday's Group feedback. Ms. Koontz shared that the group's discussion focused on idea generation and submission. The idea submission system could connect to a cause and effect or decision matrix to create initial prioritization. The Thursday Group also discussed strategic plan alignment, and the roles throughout the policy making process for the POC, the

Board, and HRSA. The approach of the small work group was for all prioritization to flow from the top down, starting with the strategic plan.

The work group discussed the suggested process map of Group 2. Discussions surrounded concerns for the new strategic plan and requiring all ideas to fit within the three goals of the plan.

Summary of Discussion:

The work group discussed the suggested process map of Thursday's Group. Discussion surrounded concern for aligning all ideas within the three goals of the plan. The new strategic plan out for public comment is not meant to be exclusive of work but instead to be an umbrella that creates broader reach of potential OPTN work.

4. Alignment

Ms. Tietjen presented the aligned areas of focus within both suggested processes. Aligned areas included idea generation and submission, early prioritization, strategic plan alignment, and roles. Staff will compile feedback to provide options during the next meeting on March 12, 2024.

Summary of Discussion:

The work group discussed the resources available for a tool to support idea generation and tracking. The work group members will receive an email outlining the current resources that are available to the committee and Board members. Ms. Tietjen thanked the work group for their time.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:59pm.

Attendance

٠

• Work Group Members

- o Andrea Tietjen
- o Erika Lease
- o George Surratt
- o Ginny McBride
- o Jim Sharrock
- o Kim Koontz
- o Matt Cooper
- o Scott Lindberg
- **HRSA Representatives**
 - o Adrienne Goodrich-Doctor
 - o Frank Holloman
- UNOS Staff
 - o Anna Messmer
 - o Cole Fox
 - o Houlder Hudgins
 - o James Alcorn
 - o Kaitlin Swanner
 - o Laura Schmitt
 - o Lauren Motley
 - o Lindsay Larkin
 - o Morgan Jupe
 - o Rebecca Goff
 - o Roger Brown
 - o Stryker-Ann Vosteen
 - o Trish Jasion
 - o Trung Le