

Meeting Summary

OPTN Minority Affairs Committee
Meeting Summary
April 15, 2024
Conference Call

Alejandro Diez, MD, Chair Oscar Serrano, MD, Vice Chair

Introduction

The OPTN Minority Affairs Committee (the Committee) met via Webex teleconference on 4/15/2024 to discuss the following agenda items:

1. 1 Year Waiting Time Modifications Monitoring Report

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions:

1. 1 Year Waiting Time Modifications Monitoring Report

Research staff presented 1 Year Waiting Time Modifications Monitoring Report. Background was introduced discussing eGFR calculation modifications. Staff covered data regarding all attestations and modifications, as well as the attestations the OPTN received from all active kidney programs. Staff presented the number of processed modifications, which may have been positively impacted by educational efforts. Staff mentioned that modification registrations are rising every year. Modified registrations by demographics were presented.

Summary of Discussion:

No decisions were made by the Committee.

A member asked how one candidate might receive more than one wait time modification. Research staff answered that a candidate who already had their time modified could have their time modified again if additional supporting documentation was submitted by their transplant program. It was asked if this information is public, and staff answered that work is being done in this area.

A member asked how many Black recipients received kidney transplants pre and post eGFR policy modification. Staff presented data showing 2,709 candidates with an eGFR waiting time modification received a deceased donor transplant and 158 received a living donor transplant. A member suggested development of educational materials for highlighting recipients and how these modifications have impacted their lives. The Chair asked if modifications would lessen over time due to new eGFR policies now being used. Staff stated that due to ongoing policy requirements, modifications will be submitted but on a less frequent basis, as the 1-year time period for retroactive list assessment closed at the beginning of January 2024.

Next Steps:

A Committee Monitoring Report Survey will be sent out for Committee feedback.

Upcoming Meeting

• May 20, 2024, 3-4pm ET

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Adrian Lawrence
- o Amaka Eneanya
- o Anthony Panos
- o Catherine Vascik
- o Christiana Gjelaj
- o John Bayton
- o Steven Averhart
- o Oscar Serrano

• HRSA Representatives

- o Adriana Alverez
- o Shelley Tims Grant

SRTR Staff

o Monica Colvin

UNOS Staff

- o Alex Carmack
- o Houlder Hudgins
- o Jamie Panko
- o Jesse Howell
- o Kaitlin Swanner
- o Kelley Poff

Other Attendees

- o Christine Baune (Incoming MAC member)
- o Valinda Jones (Visiting Board member)