Your browser does not support JavaScript capabilities, which maybe required to display this page properly.

Skip Navigation
Font Size: Font Smaller Font Larger
Release Date:

Nominees Chosen for Board of Directors Election

At its September meeting, the OPTN/UNOS Board of Directors approved the following slate of nominees for Board appointments beginning in June 2008. Candidates were recommended by the OPTN/UNOS Nominating Committee. OPTN/UNOS member voting representatives will receive a ballot and biographical information for the nominees in October and the election will be completed in December.

NOTE: The OPTN bylaws prescribe a maximum number of members of the OPTN/UNOS Board. To keep from exceeding the total count, the number of General Public Representatives elected will be either five or six, depending on the outcome of the vote for the Vice President of Patient and Donor Affairs.

Board PositionCandidate Name(s)

Robert S.D. Higgins, M.D., M.S.H.A.
Rush Univ. Med. Ctr., Chicago

Immediate Past President

Timothy L. Pruett, M.D.
Univ. of Virginia Health Sciences Center

Vice President
(Vote for one)

Jean C. Emond, M.D.
NY Presbyterian/Columbia Univ.

James J. Wynn, M.D.
Medical College of Georgia, Augusta

Vice President for Patient
and Donor Affairs
(Vote for one)

M. Jill McMaster, M.A., CAPT USNR (Ret.)

Flora Solarz, M.P.S., ATR

(Vote for one)

Mitchell L. Henry, M.D.
Ohio State Univ. Medical Center

Ruth A. McDonald, M.D.
Children's Hospital, Seattle

Regional Councillor
Region 4

John A. Goss, M.D.*
Methodist Hospital, Houston

Region 5

Chris E. Friese, M.D.*
UC San Francisco Med. Ctr.

Region 6

Jorge D. Reyes, M.D.*
Univ. of Washington Medical Center

Region 7

John R. Lake, M.D.*
Univ. of Minnesota Medical Center

Region 9

Patricia A. Sheiner, M.D.*
Westchester Medical Center

*Unopposed candidate for Councillor

Heart Transplant Representative
(Vote for one)

Jon A. Kobashigawa, M.D.
UCLA Medical Center

J. David Vega, M.D.
Emory Clinic

At Large Representatives
(Vote for three)

Kristene K. Gugliuzza, M.D.
Univ. of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston

Jimmy A. Light, M.D.
Washington Hospital Center

David C. Mulligan, M.D.
Mayo Clinic, Phoenix

Mark D. Stegall, M.D.
Mayo Clinic, Rochester

Stuart C. Sweet, M.D., Ph. D.
St. Louis Children's Hospital

At Large OPO Representative
(Vote for one)

Elaine R. Berg, M.P.A., FACHE
New York Organ Donor Network

Michael S. Seely, M.S., CPTC
Pacific Northwest Transplant Bank

Medical/Scientific Representatives
(Vote for two)

Jeffery S. Crippin, M.D.
Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Arthur J. Matas, M.D.
Univ. of Minnesota Medical Center

Donor Family Representatives
(Vote for two)

Donna Banks
Barbara D. Musto
Mark C. Norquist

Living Donor Representatives
(Vote for two)

Michelle M. Desler, M.S.
Leslie K. High, CFRE
John C.F. Hodges, M.A.

Transplant Recipient/Patient
Family/Voluntary Health
Organization Representatives
(Vote for one)

David E. Burgio, M.P.A., LFACHE.
Dolph Chianchiano, J.D.
Bobby Howard
B. Lynn Martin, M.P.H.
Deborah Surlas, AEE

Histocompatibility Representative

Deborah Crowe, Ph.D., D(ABHI)
DCI Laboratory

OPO Representative

Susan M. Dunn, M.B.A., RN, B.S.N.
Donor Alliance

Transplant Coordinator

T. Jan Finn, RN, M.S.N., CPTC
Midwest Transplant Network