Your browser does not support JavaScript capabilities, which maybe required to display this page properly.

Skip Navigation
news
Font Size: Font Smaller Font Larger
Release Date:
10/07/2011

Educational Webinar to Address Liver Policy Proposals

Among the 14 Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN) policy and bylaw proposals currently being circulated for public comment, two are intended to broaden access to donated livers for urgent transplant candidates. One proposal recommends offering livers to candidates with MELD/PELD (Model for End-Stage Liver Disease/Pediatric End-Stage Liver Disease) scores of 15 or higher at a national level after local and regional candidates with similar scores and all candidates in Status 1A and 1B are considered. The other proposal recommends that livers be offered to combined local and regional candidates with MELD/PELD scores of 35 and higher after Status 1 candidates are considered.

The OPTN/UNOS (United Network for Organ Sharing) Liver and Intestinal Organ Transplantation Committee will host a free educational webinar on Thursday, October 20, at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central/2 p.m. Mountain/1 p.m. Pacific time. Anyone interested in these proposals may participate to learn more about how they were developed and why the committee believes they will improve transplant access.

Advance registration is required to ensure enough ports are available for participants. Audio content will be provided by phone; to view the visual content, participants will also need to have a computer with Internet access. If you cannot participate in the live session, the webinar will be recorded and will be available for later viewing on the Internet. A separate announcement will provide information on how you can access the recording.

Click here to register for the webinar or learn more about it.

Back