

OPTN Nominating Committee Meeting Summary September 1, 2021 Conference Call

Jerry McCauley, MD, Chair

Introduction

The Committee met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 09/1/2021 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Updates and Reminders
- 2. Discuss 2022-2023 Vice President
- 3. Region 9 Councillor Vacancy

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Updates and Reminders

Dr. McCauley welcomed the committee to their meeting. The committee reviewed the medical/scientific society nominees received to-date.

2. Discuss 2022-2023 Vice President

Dr. McCauley shared feedback on his phone outreach to potential nominees for Vice President. The Committee decided to continue conducting phone outreach to potential nominees.

Next steps:

Dr. McCauley will continue outreach to potential nominees, and the Committee will select a final ballot pairing on September 16th.

3. Region 9 Councillor Vacancy

UNOS staff explained to the committee that the current Region 9 Councillor, Dr. Marjane Farr, is relocating to a new region. The committee reviewed potential pathways to fill the vacancy and also reviewed a recommendation from the Region 9 Nominating Committee. The committee ultimately recommended that Dr. Leway Chen, current At-Large member, serve as Region 9 Councillor until 6/30/2021. The committee then recommended that Maryjane Farr serve as At-Large member (to fill the vacancy created by Dr. Chen's appointment to R9 Councillor) until 6/30/2021. The Board will take action on both of these vacancies on 10/7/2021.

Upcoming Meetings

- September 16, 2021
- September 28, 2021
- October 6, 2021
- October 12, 2021
- October 21, 2021
- November 2, 2021

Attendance

- Committee Members
 - o Jerry McCauley, Chair
 - Matthew Cooper
 - o Amishi Desai
 - o Gail Stendahl
 - o Joseph Ferriera
 - o Laurel Avery
 - o Maryl Johnson
 - o Melissa McQueen
 - o Mindy Dison
 - o Patrick Healey
 - Brian Shepard (UNOS), Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
 - o Chris McLaughlin (HRSA), Ex-Officio, Non-Voting
- UNOS Staff
 - o Susie Sprinson
 - o Carrie Caumont
 - o Anna Wall
 - o Tina Rhoades
 - o Sally Aungier