OPTN Ad Hoc Multi-Organ Transplantation Committee Meeting Summary April 25, 2022 Conference Call

Alden Doyle, MD, MPH, Chair

Introduction

The Ad Hoc Multi-Organ Transplantation (MOT) Committee met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 04/25/2022 to discuss the following agenda items:

- 1. Review policy language: Establish Eligibility Criteria and Safety Net for Heart-Kidney and Lung-Kidney Allocation
- 2. VOTE: Do you support sending the proposal forward to the OPTN Board of Directors?

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Review policy language: *Establish Eligibility Criteria and Safety Net for Heart-Kidney and Lung-Kidney Allocation*

Members reviewed the post public comment changes that the Committee discussed and agree on during their April 11 meeting. The revised policy language requires shares for Status 4 and 5 heart candidates whom meet kidney criteria. The Committee also decided to utilize member education to clarify that Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs) will not be penalized if the kidneys are no longer "available" to offer along with heart or lung (e.g. in the event of late turndowns).

2. VOTE: Do you support sending the proposal forward to the OPTN Board of Directors?

The Committee was asked 'is there any opposition to sending this proposal to the OPTN Board of Directors at their June 2022 meeting?' No members voiced opposition. The Committee was asked 'are there any abstentions to sending this proposal to the OPTN Board of Directors at their June 2022 meeting?' No members voiced abstention. The Committee was asked 'do you support sending the proposal to the OPTN Board of Directors at their June 2022 meeting?' The Committee voiced unanimous support, with 12 votes, for sending the proposal to the OPTN Board of Directors.

Upcoming Meetings

- May 9, 2022
- June 13, 2022

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Alden Doyle
- o Chris Curran
- o Dolamu Olaitan
- o Evelyn Hsu
- o Garrett Erdle
- Kurt Shutterly
- o James Pomposelli
- o Jennifer Prinz
- o Marie Budev
- o Shelley Hall
- o Stacy McKean
- o Vince Casingal
- HRSA Representatives
 - o Marilyn Levi
- SRTR Staff
 - o Jon Snyder
 - o Jonathan Miller
 - o Katie Audette
- UNOS Staff
 - o Ben Wolford
 - o Eric Messick
 - Erin Schnellinger
 - o Kaitlin Swanner
 - o Kim Uccelini
 - o Krissy Laurie
 - o Laura Schmitt
 - o Rebecca Goff