

# OPTN Liver and Intestinal Organ Transplantation Committee National Liver Review Board (NLRB) Subcommittee Meeting Summary April 14, 2022 Conference Call

## James Trotter, MD, Chair

## Introduction

The OPTN National Liver Review Board Subcommittee (the Subcommittee) met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 04/14/2022 to discuss the following agenda items:

1. Ongoing Review of NLRB Diagnoses

The following is a summary of the Subcommittee's discussions.

#### 1. Ongoing review of NLRB Diagnoses

The Subcommittee finalized proposed updates to policy and guidance for Multiple Hepatic Adenomas (HA), Budd Chiari, and Familial Amyloid Polyneuropathy (FAP) for the upcoming August 2022 public comment period.

#### Summary of discussion:

#### HA:

A member asked how guidance would address single unresectable adenomas. The Subcommittee agreed to strike the word multiple from HA language to be inclusive of single unresectable adenomas.

#### **Budd Chiari:**

A member asked about the requirement for "etiology of hypercoagulable state". The Subcommittee agreed that this requirement is not clinically relevant and should not be included in guidance. Members discussed if Budd Chiari candidates should be considered for an exception at all or if exceptions for this diagnosis should be limited to acute cases. The Subcommittee determined they would not change this criteria for Budd Chiari because while the diagnosis is rare, these candidates will often need exceptions.

#### FAP:

The Subcommittee discussed the inclusion of criteria for domino donors, but determined it should not be added as domino donation is not always available as an option and not always the candidate's decision.

#### Next steps:

The Subcommittee will continue their review of this round of diagnoses during the next meeting.

## **Upcoming Meeting**

• May 12, 2022 @ 2:30 PM ET

## Attendance

## • Subcommittee Members

- o Alan Gunderson
- o James Trotter
- o James Eason
- o Jorge Reyes
- o Kym Watt
- o Sophoclis Alexopoulos
- HRSA Representatives
  - o Jim Bowman
  - o Marilyn Levi
- SRTR Staff
  - o John Lake
  - Katherine Audette
  - Nick Wood
- UNOS Staff
  - o Matt Cafarella
  - o Kelley Poff
  - o Hannah Brown
  - o Jennifer Musick