

Meeting Summary

OPTN Heart Committee Meeting Summary July 19, 2022 Conference Call

Rocky Daly, MD, Chair J.D. Menteer, MD, Vice Chair

Introduction

The Heart Committee met via Citrix GoToMeeting teleconference on 07/19/2022 to discuss the following agenda items:

1. Orientation regarding policy development and research processes

The following is a summary of the Committee's discussions.

1. Orientation regarding policy development and research processes

Members introduced themselves and shared their background. Committee support staff oriented the Committee to the OPTN Governance Structure and the role of the Policy Oversight Committee (POC). The core functions and responsibilities of the Research Department were introduced. The Committee has a Research staff member that specifically supports their work through monitoring reports and data requests, which assist in the policy development process.

Staff reviewed the role and responsibilities of committee members, which includes attending regional meetings, committee meetings, and subcommittee or workgroup meetings. The OPTN Policy Development process was outlined, with a specification of where current Heart Committee projects are in the process. Lastly, the Heart Committee Sharepoint site, OPTN Committee site, and additional Heart specific policy resources were shared.

Summary of discussion:

When discussing the current and upcoming Committee projects, a member inquired about the lessons learned from the other organ groups that have developed or are in the process of developing a continuous distribution allocation framework. Committee support staff noted that they will work closely with colleagues on other Committees to learn from their experiences and have staff that is solely dedicated to developing continuous distribution frameworks. Committee education on continuous distribution will begin in the coming months.

Upcoming Meetings

- August 16, 2022
- September 20, 2022
- October 11, 2022 In Person meeting in Chicago, IL
- November 15, 2022
- December 20, 2022

Attendance

• Committee Members

- o Adam Schneider
- o Amrut Ambardekar
- o Cindy Martin
- o Cristy Smith
- o Earl Lovell
- o Glen Kelley
- o J.D. Menteer
- o Jennifer Cowger
- o Jose Garcia
- o Kelly Newlin
- o Martha Tankersly
- o Robert Goodman
- o Rocky Daly
- o Timothy Gong

• HRSA Representatives

- o Jim Bowman
- o Marilyn Levi
- o Raelene Skerda

SRTR Staff

- o Monica Colvin
- o Yoon Son Ahn

UNOS Staff

- o Eric Messick
- o Keighly Bradbrook
- o Krissy Laurie
- o Kristin Cuff
- o Laura Schmitt
- o Sara Rose Wells
- o Susan Tlusty